Posts Tagged ‘CFA’

Adrienne Doobin: What is the CFA Institute?

March 19, 2013

Founded in 1947, the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Institute is a nonprofit organization of investment professionals devoted to setting the standard of excellence within the investment industry. Although it had its beginnings in Charlottesville, Virginia, where it is headquartered, the CFA has expanded globally, and it had more than 100,000 members in 140 countries as of 2012.

Membership in the CFA Institute comes with a wide range of advantages, including multiple career resources and networking opportunities. Those members who are looking for work can search the CFA Institute’s JobLine resource, which is updated with new investment jobs frequently. Members can also connect with other members by using the organization’s extensive online directory. Furthermore, the CFA Institute offers a wide range of educational programs for members who are looking to advance their careers, including a graduate-level curriculum known as the CFA Program.

The mission of the CFA Institute is to promote five organizational pillars–ethics, global community, industry knowledge, professional excellence, and the greater good–that all members must uphold. To learn more about the CFA Institute, visit

Adrienne Doobin is a business professional, Chartered Financial Analyst, and a member of the CFA Institute. In her free time, she enjoys gardening, reading, and horseback riding.


Adrienne Doobin: Earning the CFA Charter

February 28, 2013

In June 1986, Adrienne Doobin earned her Chartered Financial Analyst designation, or CFA charter. This globally-recognized credential is quite significant for those who are in the investment- management and financial analysis field. However, earning it requires a hefty investment of time and effort.

The CFA program is divided into three levels, with each level ending in a six-hour-long exam. The Level I examination is a 240-question, multiple-choice test. The Level II examination is a bit more practical and contains 20 “mini-cases” that emulate various investment problems that practitioners encounter. The Level III test starts off with essay questions during the first half of the day and then changes to 10-item sets in the later portions.

The first two exam levels are machine-graded, but the final exam papers are hand-graded by volunteer CFA charterholders. Tens of thousands of candidates take the test every year, but such a rigorous exam filters out a good portion of them.

The Essence of the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute by Adrienne Doobin

October 10, 2012

Headquartered in Charlottesville, Virginia, the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Institute has roots from as early as 1925. A nonprofit organization, the institute serves its worldwide membership with certifications that denote high standards in professional education, ethics, and excellence. The CFA Institute’s mission statement pledges its commitment “to working with our members and the global investment community to achieve our mission through our five organizational pillars.”

The five pillars of the CFA Institute are:
• the greater good
• industry knowledge
• global community
• ethical champion
• professional excellence.

A CFA-certified investment professional is trained to make choices while upholding each of the five pillars. To know more about the institute, visit its website at

About the author: Adrienne Doobin is a Chartered Financial Analyst with more than 20 years of business experience. She is a member of the CFA Institute in addition to holding positions with County Securities and Republic National Bank of New York. She co-founded Harvard Protection, LLC, the security arm of Harvard Maintenance, Inc.